Neil’s Freak Flag Went to Half Mast in ’97…Now Gone Altogether.

Neil's 1997 haircut didn't go unnoticed.

In their 2004 campaign coverage USA Today recounted the tale of Neil’s tail in 1997:

“In January 1997, Abercrombie unveiled a new look as he prepared to head back to Washington to begin work with a new Congress. He chopped off his signature ponytail.”

“Campaign ads by his opponent in the 1996 congressional election prompted Abercrombie to get his haircut, the congressman said. Orson Swindle, a retired Marine pilot and prisoner of war in Vietnam and a former Reagan administration official, ran an ad that included showing Abercrombie tossing his long hair.”

“Another ad showed Abercrombie’s hair from behind. Abercrombie defeated Swindle by a scant 6,000 votes in 1996.”

Now, at 72, the balding Abercrombie only has his side panels left to play with, and has adopted the close cropped coiffure of the once-hated “establishment.” It is also ironic that Neil’s current campaign for governor is presenting him as an “outsider” who will “stand up to the establishment.”  But, as a twenty-year veteran of the U.S. Congress, and darling of the military industrial complex, it’s pretty safe to conclude that Neil IS the establishment.

Almost cut my hair

It happened just the other day

It’s gettin’ kind of long

I could’ve said it was in my way

But I didn’t and I wonder why

I feel like letting my freak flag fly

Almost cut my hair

It happened just the other day

It’s gettin’ kind of long

I could’ve said it was in my way

Leave a Reply

